She will be loved

Sunday, Mar. 16, 2003

ice show

I went to see Kelly's daughter in the ice skating show tonight. It was pretty cute. Lots of little kids in little outfits falling on their little butts. This is the second year she was in the show and she looked so cute out there. No one in her group fell, but they didn't do anything complicated to cause them to fall. She's 7, I hope she sticks with it because a lot of the older kids were pretty amazing. I was in the ice show when I was her age, but I only did it for one year. I don't think that I was a very good skater.

I was amazed how skinny all the older girls were. Not just the ones on the ice, but the ones in the audience, too. I just don't remember girls being that thin when I was in jr. high and high school. Maybe it's just that clothing styles have changed. Now everything is so body conscious whereas in the late 80's - early 90's it was all about loose-fitting tight-rolled jeans, t-shirts, and untucked button-down shirts.

I don't think I could handle being a teen now and trying to fit in with those clothing styles. I wonder if eating disorders are more pandemic now than 10 years ago. There's just no hiding your body insecurities when you're wearing midriff baring jeans and a baby tee.

I wonder if we'll be seeing the repercussions of these styles in the future.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: Depeche Mode - World Full of Nothing
Drinking: nothing
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far