She will be loved

updated

The Cast and Crew

These are those who I may mention from time to time.

Kent - My neighbor that I'm obsessed with. He lives in the apartment below mine. I'm praying that he sees me as more than friends, although my low self-esteem tells me that I'm fooling myself. Although I'd love to be in love with him, I'd settle for being his friend or even a friend with benefits (we are very convenient to each other).

Larry - My co-worker. He's a good friend of mine and we're partners in crime. Too bad he's married, I'd be in love with him if he wasn't. Our relationship is sinister, which is why it isn't mentioned much (if I have ever mentioned it).

Amy - Amy is my best friend from college. She lives in Minneapolis and I live in Chicago, so we just talk over email. Unfortunately, I am the worst emailer ever and I fear that she takes my lack of communication personally. At the time of this writing, I haven't responded to an email of hers for almost two months and I fear that I've totally fucked up our friendship. I need to make amends, but I keep putting it off. She's a techie and the most likely to come across this journal. She has a job in the computer industry and is married to a man I don't like.

Yet again, she forgave me for losing touch. Now she's getting a divorce from the mean man and is keeping a diary here.

Team - I manage 4 people at work, 3 women and 1 man, they're all older than me. We're all a little crazy, but get along well for the most part.

Chicago and Other Locations

Kelly - My best friend. We have known each other since we were 3 years old and in the same preschool class. We had an off and on friendship until 8th grade when we suddenly became very close. We don't have very much in common anymore, actually we never really did, and sometimes I feel like we just hang out together because neither of us has too many other options. We argue a lot, but it's usually about petty things. She has a 7 year old daughter and is a preschool teacher.

Violet - Violet was one of my best friends from 7th to 10th grade, when people started telling her that I was spreading rumors about her, which totally wasn't true but that's high school. For the rest of high school, I was tormented by her friends. I pretended like they didn't bother me, but they really made my life hell. We ran into each other at the train on the way to work two years ago and decided to put our past behind us. She's awesome, super outgoing, and everything I would like to be. She works for an advertising agency and has a way-cool life. She's now in London getting her MBA. We didn't talk much before she left and I'm feeling a lot of anger toward her.

Gwen - Gwen and I have been close since 4th grade. I consider her to be a best friend even though we rarely talk or hang out. We can tell each other anything and she knows things about me that no one else does. Her fiance(e?) doesn't like her to spend any time with me because he's totally insecure and thinks I have feelings for her. Unfortunately, he's right, but they've never been acted upon. His attitude makes it very difficult for us to spend any time together. Gwen is one of the smartest people I know, but she refuses to accept her intelligence, dropped out of high school and works a blue collar job.

Lucy - Lucy and I were very close in junior high and high school but grew apart in college. She dislikes her hometown and rarely comes home. We get together once or twice a year and at those times I get totally nostalgic. We share a sense of humor and a love of pop culture that I rarely find in anyone else. She lives in Wisconsin, is married, and is an interior designer.

In December, Lucy discovered my Diaryland diary and had the nerve to tell me about it! I was unnerved at first, but don't mind so much anymore. Now she's keeping her own diary here.

My sister - My sister and I are more like friends than sisters and I spend more time with her than anyone else. She lives across the street from me and we do all our shopping and pretty much everything else together. She's 35 and I'm 26, but we're equally able to hang out with each other's friends, which is cool. Sometimes she's bossy and that really pisses me off, but I know it's because she cares. She's the most important person in my life and I don't know what I would do without her. She's a human resources assistant and is recently divorced.

My brother - My brother is hard to describe because I didn't know him very well while I was growing up. He is 12 years older than me and escaped our fucked-up family as soon as he could. He hates our parents and doesn't understand how my sister and I can have any relationship with them at all. He is very fixated on this and it makes it very hard to have a conversation with him because he's so bitter. He wants to be close to my sister and I, but it's hard because he lives in San Francisco. I love him very much but we both have a lot of issues that make communication difficult. He tries a lot harder than I do, and for that I feel horrible. He's single and works in the computer industry.

My mom - My mom comes from a fucked-up family and got married into an even more fucked-up family. I've always thought that she was ashamed of my weight and this made my teen years hell. I've gotten over it, mostly, and now we're pretty close. I've gotten two of my best characteristics from her, my not-so-common sense and my sense of humor. She's a real estate agent which enables her to be my taxicab at times.

My dad - My dad is pretty screwed up and I could write on and on for pages about the reasons why. He's a genius, an alcoholic, severely diabetic, an emotional abuser, and many other things. When I was growing up, he was very distant, always buried in a book. The only times he wasn't this way was when he was drunk, then came the names, the threats, and other loveliness. He no longer drinks and though he can still be a major asshole, generally he's tolerable. My diabetes diagnosis brought us closer. I realize that he does care, in his own twisted fucked-up way. Amazingly, he and my mother have been married for 39 very long years. I really have no idea what his job is. I know where he works, but I don't know what he does.

Luka - My coworker who I'm obsessed with. His cubicle is next to mine and I'm constantly aware of what he's doing. He's taken over my mind but I'm slowly trying to push him out.

Kate, Sean, and Beth - The other people on my team at work. Luka has a long history of anger and resentment with Kate and Beth, which I often feel caught in the middle of. Sean is very close with Kate and Beth and seems to believe everything they tell him about Luka. It all adds up to a lot of team angst.

George - Our old intern. He's back at school and I miss his sweetness. Plus he's the only one who understood my relationship with Luka and what it was like to work on this team while attempting to remain diplomatic.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to:
Drinking:
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far