She will be loved

Sunday, Mar. 09, 2003

new CDs

I've purchased a few new CDs recently:

The Virgin Suicides - Soundtrack
Coldplay - Parachutes
The Cure - Disintegration
Morphine - The Best of Morphine: 1992-1995
Pure 80's Love - The #1 Hits

Disintegration was the first Cure tape that I bought, in 8th grade I think, so I bought it for nostalgia's sake.

I liked the film of The Virgin Suicides and most of the artists on the soundtrack, so that's why I bought that. I did feel rather conspicuous buying The Virgin Suicides at the Virgin Megastore with my suicidal virgin ass, but anyway. (Actually, I'm not suicidal, don't worry. I don't want to be living, but I'm not ready to off myself yet.)

Morphine because I remember Amy really liking this band in college and I was in the mood for something relatively new to my ears. (I just looked up Morphine on Allmusic and was pleasantly surprised to find an XTC connection, they both have turned poetry by Ernest Noyes Brookings into music. What a coinky-dink.)

Pure 80's Love because I'm a sucker for compilations, and for ballads, so both together is fantasmic. It doesn't disappoint.

Coldplay. Coldplay. Coldplay. This has been on constant rotation in my CD player. On my MD player, I go back and forth between this and their newer one. Both offer soothing sounds to the melancholy soul. I can't get enough of them.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: Coldplay - Parachutes - Trouble
Drinking: diet pepsi twist
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far