She will be loved

Monday, Aug. 05, 2002

Please please please let me get what I want

So anyway, the whole point is... Um... Um... Oh yeah.

I came pretty close to getting the last position I applied for at this company. There were four or five of us after the second interview that they were trying to decide between. But they never called my references for that position. I've gotten the impression that this company does everything by the book, being the large corporate bureaucracy that it is, and they probably follow the same process for every position they hire. So that seems to indicate that I'm closer to getting this job than I was the last one. The person that I spoke to today said that the team manager would call me tomorrow. I'm sending "please hire Shoop, she's the best person for the job" vibes her way.

I need this job so much, I want this job so much. I don't know what I'll do if I don't get it, I don't even have any other interviews set up. That's the biggest reason why I'm worried that I won't get it. As the saying goes, I've got all my eggs in one basket, and that can't be a good thing. But it's not that I'm not looking, there's just nothing out there for a data/research analyst with my qualifications. I just don't have enough experience. But this job would be such a great experience. And health care? That's like the best industry to be in now and in the future. That's one of the few industries that won't be hurt by the economy.

(Violet just stopped by with a friend of her's. I was strong, I let them smoke but didn't myself. I really wanted to to ease my mind, but I'd regret it when it's drug test time.)

I feel like I belong at this company. I've gone through so many interviews, on the phone and four times at the company. I've now been interviewed in person by 8 people. I've tried so hard. Expensive suits and thoughtful thank you notes on professional card stock. I've put so much into it. I've been going back and forth with them since May. I just don't know what I'll do if I don't get it. I guess then it will be time to get serious. Geez, I've been out of work for 2 months and NOW I'm thinking about getting serious? I'll have to contact recruiters and job placement agencies. That's stuff I've been putting off for so long, I've only been job searching online. I hope that I'd have better luck with an agency/recruiter. A lot of companies don't need to advertise on Monster/Hotjobs/Dice/Careerbuilder, they just go through agencies.

But none of that matters, because I will get this job. I will. I can envision myself working there. They want me. It's mine. I'm going to keep trying to convince myself of this.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: The Smiths/Hatful of Hollow/Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want
Drinking:
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far