She will be loved

2002-07-31

dipsy

Well, the interview went well, maybe. It's so hard to say since I have no confidence in myself, but miracles do happen. I was interviewed by 5 people at once, but it wasn't as bad as I imagined that kind of interview would be. It was pretty informal, much like the first one. I was able to keep my cool and I think I answered all of the questions okay. It lasted almost an hour and a half. After the first hour, the team manager had to leave for a meeting, but I continued talking to the rest of the team. It got more conversational then, talked about friendly vs. unfriendly work environments and people with funny names. I think I was able to jump into the conversation fairly well, which I hope showed that I could communicate well with the team, which I hope they noted. At the end I said, "I really want this job." and B replied, "Yeah, we all know how hard it is to be out of work." I didn't answer that, but now I'm wishing that I had emphasized that that's not the main reason I wanted the job. But considering that's the biggest regret that I had after the interview, I guess it went pretty well. So I just don't know, I'll try to be optimistic.

I tried to get a feel for what my competition was, I hope that didn't annoy them. See, this is the second position I have interviewed for at the company, the first one was for a market research analyst. I didn't get that one, but Lisa, the person I interviewed with, felt that I would be good for the data analyst position, so she referred me. When the human resources person called me about this position, she said that Lisa had referred 4 people. That totally burst my bubble, I thought I was special! So in this interview, I asked whether any of those people had been called back for the second interview and I was told that I was the only one. So that made me feel pretty good, although it doesn't mean much if I don't get this job.

They're conducting interviews this week and making the decision next week. Let the worry and anxiety begin!

Listening to: Bryan Ferry/Slave to Love/To Turn You On -- this is my favorite Roxy Music song, Bryan's voice is so full of loneliness and longing. It reminds me of wintertime and Steve, a guy I had a crush on at my last job. Riding home on the train, pitch dark at 6 PM, sheltered from the snow, and fantasizing about what romance might be like.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to:
Drinking:
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far