She will be loved

Tuesday, May. 13, 2003

A spree

I got a nice little surprise yesterday. The research director called me into her office and gave me a check, she wasn't sure what it was for, it just looked like a typical paycheck, and I had no idea. Inside the pay stub it said Bonus $500. Huh? Bonus for what? I'm thinking it might have been a signing bonus for agreeing to relocate. I thought people had to negotiate that into their deal and I didn't even try because I entered into negotiations so late (well actually, I didn't enter negotiations at all because I don't know how to do that kind of stuff and I'm not assertive enough, so I just took what they offered me). I knew of one person getting a signing bonus, Sean, so maybe they decided to give it to everyone. I don't know, but I'm not complaining.

Anyway, after taxes it was only $311. I spent most of that last night on an online shopping spree at Ulla Popken. I've gotten their catalogs for awhile and they have really nice looking stuff and I've heard great things about their clothing, but it was always too expensive for me. So I splurged last night and got a swimsuit, a red dress, a robe, and a white blouse. I hope the stuff is as nice as it looks in the pictures.

There'll be a pool at the new apartment complex, plus I plan on spending a lot of time in the pool at the Y, so I needed a swimsuit. I ordered one yesterday at Land's End, before I got my bonus, and now I'm trying to decide if I want to cancel the order. It wouldn't hurt to have two suits, it's just that they're so expensive. I guess I should keep it and not feel the guilt of wasting money. That bonus is like found money, I should spend it without stressing about the consequences. I guess.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: Luka typing
Drinking: diet pepsi twist
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far