She will be loved

Sunday, Oct. 20, 2002

recording

I'm making a some new minidiscs for work today:

Peter Gabriel - Shaking the Tree
Steve Miller Band - Greatest Hits 1974-1978
Erasure - The Innocents
Depeche Mode - Catching Up
Depeche Mode - Black Celebration
& The Cardigans - First Band on the Moon

I finished Peter Gabriel and am on Steve Miller now. It takes as long to record a CD to MD as it does CD to cassette. Sometimes that prevents me from recording more to MD. That was the nice thing about my old MP3 player, it took less than a minute to record 10 songs. The problem with that was that was all I could record, 10 songs. I probably have over 1,000 songs recorded to MD on my desk at work. And because they're so pint-size, they take up hardly any space at all. And it's convenient for me that so few people are familiar with MD, it's much less likely that my music would get stolen than if I had that many CDs on my desk.

Anyway, so, I'm recording Steve Miller right now. This album is so essential to any music collection; if you don't have it, buy it. Now. It's only $8 at mymusic. I had forgotten how much I love all these songs. The Steve Miller Band is one of those groups where most people don't immediately recognize the name, but when they hear this are amazed that they know and love all the songs. It's a classic rock classic.

Steve Miller ended and I just put in Erasure. In my book, another classic. It don't think as many people would love it as would love Steve Miller. But if you're a fan of 80's dance pop, it's perfection. Check it out if you enjoy Depeche Mode/The Cure/Pet Shop Boys/ABC/New Order/others who aren't immediately coming to mind (Probably all the bands that are listed in Dead Milkmen's "You'll Dance to Anything.") Erasure is also the best band I've ever seen live.

I should probably add Lionel Richie Back to Front to the to-be-recorded pile on top of my speakers. Another comfortable classic I couldn't live without. I think I might feel totally cheesy listening to it at work, though.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: Erasure/The Innocents/Chains of Love
Drinking:
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far