She will be loved

Sunday, Jan. 25, 2004

5-25-94 (no one)

This was an assignment from my journal writing class in high school. We had to write a letter to our future selves, ourselves in four years. Our teacher made us promise not to let ourselves read it until that time. It's kinda funny, kinda sad, and kinda corny.

May 25

DO NOT READ THIS UNTIL MAY 25, 1998! ! ! !

[Shoop], you are reading this now and you are 22 years old. I really hope that you are happy. I hope that college worked out great and that you graduated w/in four years - although somehow I doubt that will happen (I was right, it took me seven years). I hope that you had a lot of good times in college and that you made a lot of great friends. But I also hope that you are still friends w/some people from [hometown]. I don't know how your relationship w/Kelly will work out, as time goes by, the differences in our personalities become more and more apparent. I can see how this will be a problem during this upcoming summer, let alone in the future. We'll probably keep in touch, but I don't think that we'll ever be as close as we were before. I think that Lucy and I will also lose touch, we'll write letters for awhile, maybe visit each other once in awhile, but soon that too will die down. Lucy and Kelly are my closest friends right now. I hope that in four years, you are looking back at college fondly, not like I'm looking back at high school right now. There is real[ly] nothing memorable to talk about. Right now I'm in Mrs. Levine's room, sitting between Ebony (who's writing furiously) and Rick (who's nibbling on his pen, that's making my stomach curdle). The windows are open and I can hear the sounds of a softball class and Mr. - I['ll] fill that name in later, I can't remember his name for the life of me, although I had him as a teacher (I never filled his name in and damned if I remember now) - yelling at his tennis class. The air from outside is extremely hot and dry, I'm sweating like a whore in church, to steal little Sean's phrase.

(At this point, there's a small crappy drawing of some tree tops with what was supposed to be a church sticking out between them.)

I was trying to draw the view that I saw out the window, but I screwed up on the church. I drew the same picture a year and a half ago in Spiccuza's class, I should find that picture and paste it in here (I wish I had done that, I'd love to see it now, but I'm sure I threw it away in a notebook long ago.). I was proud of it, who cares what Shakiela had to say. I went to McDonalds w/Lucy and Heather today, now I have stomach cramps. We get our yearbooks tomorrow, I hope that they are filled w/fond memories.

Love,

[Shoop]

Wednesday, May 25, 1994

1:51 PM

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: washer and dryer still
Drinking: twist and eating Doritos and guacamole
Wearing: same clothes as before

before after

0 comments so far