She will be loved

Monday, Aug. 29, 2005

more thoughts

Thinking back on my email to Kent (I�ve decided that�ll be my neighbor�s name), I think I said some things that might seem a little �forward.� Not that I regret them, I�m just surprised at myself. When I told him that I was canceling my membership at the personals site, I said it was because I had only met one guy who I hadn�t hit it off with and all the other have been creepy or not very interesting. I told him that the best thing to come out of my membership was getting to know him better.

When you unsubscribe from the service, you can�t send or receive emails, so I gave him my home email and told him to email or call anytime if he wants to hang out. I didn�t give him my phone number again, so I said that with the hope that he had saved my number. You can bet your bottom dollar that as soon as I got off the phone with him on Saturday (he called to see if I was ready to leave for the store), I added him as a contact on my cell.

Now I know those aren�t huge tip-offs to him that I�m interested in him, but little clues. I know most guys don�t pick up on clues unless they�re extremely overt, so I feel my secret crush is still pretty safe.

Some actions of his that make me think he might have some interest also:

  • On this site, you can indicate what you�re seeking in a date. When I first saw his profile, it said he was seeking a woman between 24 and 27 (he�s 27). On the site, you can also see who has viewed your profile, so I knew that if he used that feature he would see that I had viewed his. That night that I emailed him, I checked who had viewed mine and saw that he had (which was another reason I decided to email, I knew we both had seen each other, so it seemed reasonable to say hi). When I looked at his profile, I saw that he had upped the age of the women he was seeking to 29.
  • In his first email, he said it was good to finally know my name.
  • As Chelsea had pointed out in one of her comments, I can�t be the only person he knows with a car big enough to fit a large IKEA box. One of my coworkers also said this last week. And from our conversation during our trip, I know that he not only has work friends but also has friends from college who live in the area. So it seems pretty odd that he would ask me, who he barely knows, to take him there. Chelsea and the coworker both said that he may have used it as an excuse to get to know me better. I hope they�re right!

    So I�m trying to stay grounded in reality and not read too much into those actions, but I can�t help myself.

    It�s so nice to finally have something to write about!

    * * *

    After reading through some comments last night, I started to get really bothered by the size of the comment text, it was way too small and gave me a headache after awhile. I tried a bunch of things to alter it with the font size, but it didn�t seem like anything would change. Finally I realized that the problem was that the comments page was designed so that the comments were headings and because they were written as heading 6, it made the text super small. I guess I designed it that way, but I have no idea why I would do such a thing. So I fixed it and it�s all good now.

    Also from the comments, I noticed that some of your diary websites have changed from what I have linked on the side of my diary. I�ll update those tonight.

    * * *

    I need to take some pictures to show my progress. My digital camera is kind of crappy, so I need a new one (and a tripod, Kristi!), so I�ll keep my eye for sales. I should take some pictures using the crappy camera, though, just to put some out there.

    * * *

    I�m still waiting to hear back from him�

    Watching/Hearing/Listening to: typing around me
    Drinking: nothing
    Wearing: black pants and maroon shirt

    before after

    2 comments so far