She will be loved

Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005

George Foreman can squat on this

Well, I said I wouldn't sabotage myself, but I guess I lied. Today's my birthday, 29. Woohoo, yippee, whatever. So I got my favorite chinese food, orange chicken. If you can't indulge a little on your birthday, when can you? So if I go up a pound or two, which I'm sure I will, at least, I'll deal with it. (I actually had two people say I was looking skinnier today - amazing!)

I'm not too depressed about my birthday, I'm just depressed about being alone on it. I want to be home, Chicago. But I don't want to get into my depression right now, since it's my birthday and all.

That George Foreman workout I did on Sunday killed me. I didn't feel any pain that night, I even did two pilates workouts later. But the next day, oh my god, the pain. My quadriceps (front of thighs) were stiffer than they have ever been in my life. I could barely walk. Sitting down or standing up caused unbelievable pain. Even trying to sit on the toilet was hell, I could squat a little bit and then just fall back the last couple of inches and hope I landed correctly.

It was all the damn squats in the workout. Now I'm no stranger to squats, I do them all the time in Leslie's workouts. But Leslie has you stand still and lower yourself, George's instructor makes you step to the side and squat, then step to the other side and squat. Then walk forward and squat, then walk back and squat. Step, lunge, step lunge. I�m just too uncoordinated and I think I tried too hard, which compromised my form and led to injury.

I�m still feeling a tiny bit of an ache right now, four days later, but it�s lessened with time. Through yesterday, I looked as if I just got off a horse every time I walked. It was a bit embarrassing at work, a few people looked at me funny, but screw them. There were a couple times when I felt my thighs buckle. That�s a crazy sensation, losing control of my thighs. I know knees can buckle, but I�ve never heard of it happening to thighs. I�m proud that I kept my exercise routine up through the pain, still doing two miles in the morning and another workout at night, although definitely taking things easier whenever I had to do any squatting moves. I don�t know how smart that was. I was thinking it would be a good move to keep up the routine, to keep moving. But I could have really injured myself, when I think about it, and that would�ve been really stupid. I was so worried to take any time off of exercise, fear of losing my momentum. But if I had seriously injured myself, I would�ve been off exercise for a lot longer than a couple of days. Next time something like this happens, I�ll definitely take things much easier.

Speaking of next time, I will do the Foreman workout again, but I won�t try so hard. I�ve learned my limits. And I think I'll wait a week or two before I try again.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to:
Drinking:
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far