She will be loved

Sunday, Feb. 13, 2005

harder and longer

I tried a new walking workout today, George Foreman's Walk it Off. It was a lot different than a Leslie walk workout, more tricky steps and a bit of a faster pace. I stumbled a lot, but I really liked it. George was cheerful and motivating. The woman who was instructing didn't explain things very well, but I think if I do it a few more times I'll get everything down. The people in the video were a good mix of body types, which was refreshing. Plus, it made me sweat like crazy, so it's definitely one to keep in my rotation.

I also did two pilates videos tonight. Leslie's and Mari Winsor's with the band. I love those two, combined they're really a great workout.

I suppose I should start tracking my workouts and weight again. One of these days I'll get that started.

I think one of the reasons I've managed to finally get below 219 is that I've upped my exercise. Before, I was just doing a mile (occasionally two) in the morning, but now I almost always do two. If I only have time for one, I do two more that night. Plus, I'm still doing my upper body workouts, pilates, and sometimes yoga. So I'm working out at least an hour everyday.

The reason I've upped the cardio (I know walking isn't heavy duty cardio, but it gets me sweating, so it's cardio enough for me) is that I've read in a couple of places now that in order to lose weight, you should aim for 60 minutes of cardio daily. So I've decided to put more focus on the walking and less on strength and toning. I'm certainly not getting in 60 minutes daily, but I'll try to work up to that, eventually.

It's frustrating to read now that you need 60 minutes of cardio daily, because I'd always read that 30 minutes was the goal. But I guess that's now what's recommended for health, but weight loss needs more. Sucks, but if that's what it takes, that's what it takes.

So anyway, time to watch the Grammys.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to:
Drinking:
Wearing:

before after

0 comments so far