She will be loved

Thursday, May. 20, 2004

it's counterintuitive to me

My workouts have been going well. Not going according to plan, but going well. I've decided to stop doing the 8 minutes in the morning. Would you believe my biggest problem with it was breathing? He really emphasises breathing, but it's counterintuitive to me so my form ends up suffering or I lose count of repetitions because I'm so focused on when I'm exhaling and inhaling. He wants to you exhale when you lift up (examples: when lifting the weights up during a bicep curl or when rising in a crunch) and then inhale when going down (returning the weights to the starting position or when lowering in a crunch). It's a little thing, but it sucks big time! Maybe it's just me, I dunno. But anyway, I'm still going to do weight training, with videos, alternating between abs and arms. Those are the areas I need to focus on anyway.

My arms are looking a lot better than a few months ago, I'm really seeing some nice definition. But the arms aren't exactly where I want the most change in the upper body, it's the effects the arm exercises have on my back and chest. One of these days I'll take a picture of my back, it won't be pretty, but I'll take one. My back is almost as flabby as my stomach. My spare tires go all the way around! I'm hoping the pilates will help with that, too.

I love pilates! I just finished a workout and I'm feeling good. Yesterday I tried a video that I've had for quite awhile but have never watched, Pilates for Dummies. The instruction is a little different from Leslie's, which is good, the more different ways I hear things explained, the better my form is. I even bit the bullet yesterday and ordered Winsor Pilates. Total impulse buy, but I doubt I'll regret it. I felt really impulsive since I've never taken my Tae Bo DVDs that I ordered months ago out of the shrinkwrap. But I think it will be different with the pilates, since I'm already doing the workout I'm more determined. I do plan on doing the Tae Bo eventually, just not right now. :)

I'm such a workout video junkie. Ah well, I've been many forms of junkies in my life, at least this one is positive!

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: Infomercial - Slim in 6
Drinking: bottle of water one side, twist on the other
Wearing: white tank, dark gray exercise pants, white socks

before after

0 comments so far