She will be loved

Friday, May. 14, 2004

yoga, pilates, and a routine

Yoga was pretty good last night. Even the standing on one leg (Stork pose) wasn't so bad, because she recommended keeping a chair next to you to grab if you lose your balance. That helped a lot, just knowing it was there. With that pose in the past (I've taken a yoga class and I've done her other yoga tape), the fear of falling on my face was enough to make me lose my balance, so having the chair there was reassuring.

I bought yoga blocks last night and they were pretty helpful. They're for support in different poses (Triangle and also a lunge one that I can't remember the name of). I could've done the poses without them (because what I lack in balance and stability, I make up for with flexibility), but they helped to stretch as much as possible without fearing my safety.

I was surprised when I went to buy the yoga blocks, for little foam bricks they're very expensive! I thought they would be cheapest at Target, but they were $10.99 each. Then I went to Sports Authority where they were $9.97 each. Would you believe the cheapest place I found them was Borders? They were still $8.99 each, but for the two of them that was $4 savings over Target. Plus they were better quality, I think. Crazy expensive, but better than pulling some major muscle and not being able to exercise for a few days.

I did the pilates tape again tonight. I must say, I love it! The stretching feels so good, it works all my muscles, and I can do all the moves. When I was done, I not only felt good from the exercise, I felt good about the exercise. Like, go me, I love pilates!

So I've decided this is going to be my exercise rotation, until I get bored with it:

Monday - Friday:
AM: Leslie walk for one mile as a warmup/light cardio
Jorge 8 minutes for strength (weights)
PM (alternating): Leslie You Can Do Pilates for stretching
Prevention Banish Your Belly for abs

Saturday:
AM (or PM depending on when I wake up :D ): Leslie walk for at least 1 mile
Jorge 8 minutes
PM: You Can Do Yoga

Sunday:
Either the day off or any tape or some outside activity

Sounds really good to me, I think I could stick with a routine like that. It's all stuff I like, so I'll stay motivated, but I think I've got all the important aspects of exercise covered (cardio, strength, stretching, and ab work).

Time for bed. G'night.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: CNN
Drinking: water
Wearing: light gray tank and exercise pants, white socks

before after

1 comments so far