She will be loved

Friday, Feb. 20, 2004

shopping list

I went grocery shopping tonight and, although I can't say I wasn't tempted, I didn't buy that big bag of sour cream and onion potato chips like I have every other Friday night for the past month. There were lots of other things I was tempted by (coffee haggan dazs (I can never spell that right), Krispy Kreme donuts, Easter candy, Oreos (and I don't even like store bought cookies!), cheap Valentine's Day candy, too much!), but I was able to resist it all. I just focused on the good stuff.

I spent more than I want on my weekly grocery shopping (I�m trying to see how grocery $ differs with South Beach vs. my usual high starch/packaged/sugary diet), but I did buy things I don�t buy on a weekly basis, like toilet paper and magazines. And they had plenty of red pepper hummus in stock (not anymore buhahahaha), and I�m pretty sure that will last me at least two weeks.

Okay, I don't know how dorky this is, but I would enjoy seeing it in other people's diary, so I'm going to do it in mine. And I think I might like to see it myself years from now, to see what I ate and also the prices of things.

My Grocery List
Item Quantity Price
Angel Soft TP 16 double rolls 5.99
ground sirloin* 2 lbs 8.16
Allure 1 magazine 2.99
Oxygen 2 magazines 7.98
shaved turkey breast* 1 lb 5.86
shaved boiled ham .75 lb 1.99
hard salami .5 lb 2.53
string cheese 2 packs 5.00
co-jack cheese chunks 2 packs 5.00
Athenos Red Pepper Hummus - YAY! 12 containers 23.76
large eggs 3 dozen 3.64
fat free half & half* 1 pint 1.09
Beano�s submarine dressing* 1 bottle 1.99
avocados 2 1.96
green pepper .54 lb .64
romaine lettuce 1 bag 2.98
Kraft mild cheddar cheese - 2% 1 bag 2.49
Sargento lite cheddar 1 bag 2.49
no sugar added fudgesicles 1 box 2.69
celery 1 bunch 1.68
Perdue Shortcuts chicken breast 1 package 4.58
organic roasted soynuts* 1 bag 1.88
scallions/green onions* 1 bunch .49
Total with tax $98.52

*Normally I wouldn�t buy ground sirloin, but it�s the only kind of ground beef you�re allowed on this diet, which kind of sucks, money-wise. But, last week, I found that if I browned it, broken up like for taco meat, with onions and green pepper, and then kept the mixture in the fridge, it tastes really really good thrown into a pan with scrambled eggs and salsa and then sprinkled with low-fat cheddar. Just thinking about it is making me hungry.

*Now that I�m looking at the receipt, I�m pissed about the turkey breast. At the deli counter, I asked for the turkey that was on sale for $4.97/lb, but I got something that was $5.87/lb. I mean, it�s not a huge deal, it�s not like I�m going to bring it back, but I spent a lot at that store, and every dollar counts!

*The half & half isn�t for coffee (blegh -- it�s funny I can�t stand coffee, but I love coffee flavored candy and ice cream), it�s for the scrambled eggs. There�s no milk on this diet, cuz it�s high in carbs, so to make the eggs creamy, I mix a little half & half with a little water. Not too bad of a substitute, plus it doesn�t spoil as quickly as milk, so I save money there.

*I�ve been making sandwich salads: half a bag of pre-washed romaine, lotsa little pieces of ham or turkey, low-fat cheddar, and mustard (with ham) or bacon ranch dressing (with turkey). But I don�t think the ranch salad dressing is good on this diet. It�s low in carbs but high in fat, which you should avoid almost as carbs on this diet. So I saw this sub sandwich oil on the deli counter and thought it might be worth a try, it doesn�t have as much fat and I wouldn�t need as much for flavoring as I would the ranch. But, son of a bitch, I just compared labels and the ranch is 16g fat per 2 tbsp serving but the oil is 11g fat per 1 tbsp serving. So it actually has 3g fat more per spoonful. I don�t want to be someone who counts fat grams, or carbs, or calories, but I like to know I�m making the best choice of my options. Oh well, it�ll be good to have occasionally, for variety, I guess.

*Of the packages I compared, all the flavored soynuts were high in sugar, so I opted for the plain ones (unfortunately still have a bit of sugar, but about half the amount of the flavored ones). I flavor them myself: whatever seasonings suit my mood (right now it's cumin, garlic powder, and white pepper - but I think almost anything would taste good), 2 drops olive oil (to make the seasonings stick), and about a quarter cup of nuts. Toss together in a small container and eat with a spoon (cuz they're oily due to the oil and it's not like a one nut is a satisfying bite anyway). Yummy!

*My mom and I got into a heated discussion once about whether scallions are the same as green onions. I insist they are, she insists they�re not. See, in Japan, I grew to love the taste of scallions in soup, especially pork ramen soup and udon soup. So I would rave to her about my love of scallions and how I wanted to have them in everything when I got home. She said she had never seen scallions in the Chicago area. I said, what you talking about, scallions are the same as green onions! She wouldn�t believe me, she was absolutely adamant that they weren�t, although they were similar. Now she knows a lot more about food and cooking than I, so I started to doubt myself. But since I�ve been here, I�ve seen the two names used interchangeably, so HA on her!

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: 20/20 - women's sex drives
Drinking: twist
Wearing: black trousers, light yellow pullover, blue suede shoes

before after

0 comments so far