She will be loved

Saturday, Mar. 13, 2004

grocery list

I have been buying way too many groceries lately. But I end up throwing away much of the fresh foods anyway, so I need to quit it!

Last week I went to the grocery store probably every other day. I did have an ulterior motive though, there's a cashier I have slight crush on, so I keep going in hopes of going through his line. How pathetic is that? I haven't even seen him there in like two weeks, what a waste of time and money!

But I think more trips is actually better in the long run, because I'll only buy the fresh food I need, in theory, and then I won't be as wasteful.

So I'm going to keep doing these grocery lists. So that curious people can see what I buy, but also so I can keep track of my spending. This diary is meant to be about all my struggles to take care of myself, and taking care of myself financially is a very big part of that. Binge shopping is just as bad as binge eating (although more socially acceptable, of course).

My shopping goal is to spend less than $150.00 a week. After seeing how that goes, I'll go for spending less than $100.00 a week.

The store I grocery shop at regularly isn't an Aldi's type store, which I have an ingrained aversion to, but it is a "warehouse market." And for the most part, I have no problems buying store brands in order to save money. I also have a membership at Sam's Club, but don't go there too often due to the prices often being higher than my regular grocery store. Sam's is good for buying water bottles, vitamins, cans of tuna, and a few other misc things.

My Grocery List
March 12
Item Quantity Price
clorox toilet bowl cleaner 1 1.69
90% lean ground beef .99 lb 2.95
100% whole wheat bread 1 loaf 1.50
pinto beans 1 can .49
string cheese 2 packages 7.38
shaved boiled ham .5 lb .99
cucumber 1 .69
celery 1 bunch 1.48
mustard 20 oz 1.59
miracle whip 18 oz 1.95
tomato sauce 2 small cans .70
dark red kidney beans 2 cans .78
light red kidney beans 1 can .39
coupons string cheese -1.10
total with tax $21.59
March 13
Item Quantity Price
diced tomatos large can 1.19
Rotel 1 can .95
scallions 1 bunch .49
yellow onions 2 large .84
avocados 3 2.94
total with tax $6.41
total for the week $28.00

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: XTC mp3 - Gold
Drinking: water
Wearing: same as before

before after

0 comments so far