She will be loved

Saturday, Mar. 06, 2004

Jeez, imagine what a mega-bitch I would be if I wasn�t already taking anti-depressants.

One thing I�m having a real hard time dealing with on this diet is my moods. Before, if I was irritable or in a funk, I could boost my mood with candy, chips, or a starch heavy meal. It�s so hard not to have those things to fall back on anymore. I never really thought of myself as an emotional eater, because I could never find a recurrent theme that seemed to trigger my binges. But I guess this is emotional eating, too, relying on foods to moderate your mood.

I think most people probably use food as a mood stabilizer, and it is probably a hurdle to climb for everyone who decides to severely reduce sugar and white flour in their diet.

It�s different than hunger, it�s more of a subconscious urge. Like a Snickers bar to get you through that afternoon slump or a bag of sour cream and onion potato chips to ease a lonely Friday night.

Protein does seem to help a little to boost moods, but it doesn�t work as quickly as sugar or carbs would.

It�s so frustrating, I hope it will get better with time, but it makes me such a crab right now. Jeez, imagine what a mega-bitch I would be if I wasn�t already taking anti-depressants.

* * * * *

Thanks to everyone who has left me such nice comments! They really are great motivators. I spend so much time reading other people�s weight loss diaries, fantasizing about the day when someone will be inspired by me, I can�t believe there are people who already finding me inspiring. Sniff, sniff. Once I get in a better mood, I�ll try to respond to specific comments.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: the dryer
Drinking: water
Wearing: light gray Umbro tee, green jersey cotton shorts, white socks

before after

0 comments so far