She will be loved

Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2004

My Baby

Huckie started to get really sick on Monday night. Crying in pain, constant licking of his genitals, vomitting, repeatedly going back and forth to the litter box. My poor baby was in so much pain.

I brought him to the vet yesterday and the vet diagnosed an obstructed bladder. He said Huck needed immediate surgery to get the obstruction to pass. He said they'd then need to put a catheter in and keep him under observation for a few days.

I spoke to the vet tonight and he said that although the surgery went well, they were pretty worried until this afternoon because there was so much blood in his urine. But he said that now he is recuperating very well and I should be able to pick him up tomorrow night.

There is no way to express how much I love that cat. If I hadn't brought him in when I did, he probably would've died. I feel so bad, though, because I didn't bring him in first thing on Tuesday morning, instead I went to work and brought him in in the afternoon. Although I knew he was hurting, I didn't expect it to be as serious as it was. I think if he had died, I would've killed myself. I can't believe I risked my baby's life so that I wouldn't piss off my boss. As if my job is worth it!

Anyway, it's gonna be a big vet bill. This morning I called for an estimate and they said between $600 - $1100!!! That sent me reeling into another freak out, money was already extremely tight for me. When I talked to the vet tonight, he said it would be closer to $600. Thank God, I hate to put a price on his health, but I didn't know how I would be able to afford $1000 or more without getting myself much deeper into debt. I'd pay whatever it took for my baby's health, but I'm so relieved. It'll still be a blow to my credit, but not quite so bad.

God, I just can't wait to get him home. Beavie and I just aren't the same without him.

Watching/Hearing/Listening to: Chapelle Show
Drinking: nothin
Wearing: tan cotton pants and a white t-shirt

before after

0 comments so far